Thunder Bay

Thunder Bay

At the head of the shores of Lake Superior is where Thunder Bay is found. Its location is not only showcases the beauty and splendor of Northwestern Ontario, but is also a strategic access point between the Eastern provinces of the Great Lakes, the Atlantic Ocean and the Western provinces.  Formed as a merger between the cities of Fort William and Port Arthur and the townships of Neebing and McIntyre in 1970, Thunder Bay took its name from what 18th century French maps labeled ‘Baie de Tonnerre’.  Affectionately called the Lakehead, Thunder Bay’s history has been a long development. The area was originally inhabited by the Ojibway Indians and for hundreds of years they populated the rugged, beautiful terrain.  Their culture remained dominant until the arrival of the Europeans in the late seventeenth century.  French fur trading posts were unsuccessfully established in 1679 and 1717, but permanent settlement began in 1803 when the North West Company established Fort William.  The post...
Read More
Emo

Emo

Emo’s history is similar to all communities in the Thunder Bay-Rainy River district, one that was settled in the early 1880’s by pioneers who arrived for free homesteads.  The community of Emo was incorporated into a township in 1899.  Its first Reeve, Alexander Luttrell, traveled from Ireland to the area in the 1880’s and named Emo after a town close to his Irish birthplace.  He became the town’s first Reeve in 1899 and still has relatives that live in Emo to this day. The village of Emo is located along the Rainy River in Lash Township, directly north of the state of Minnesota.  The main industries in the township are agriculture and forestry and because of its geographical location, Emo serves as the main service centre for agricultural needs of the Rainy River District....
Read More